Half Dome Village History
Half Dome Village’s original 1899 incarnation was comprised of a dozen tents with a central dining area where guests could gather together for meals. In a short time, its superb location and affordability inspired its rapid growth—ultimately growing to several hundred tents. Not long after, a dance pavilion, pool hall, swimming pool and ice skating rink were added. Today the dance hall is still standing—now transformed into the Stoneman House lodge with 18 rooms.